School of Architecture and Civil Engineering

University of Wuppertal

Welcome to the Chair of Bicycle Traffic

Welcome to the Chair of Bicycle Traffic

Welcome to the Chair of Bicycle Traffic

The science of cycling

Urban traffic is undergoing a transformation - citizens, city planners, policymakers and traffic engineers are realizing the potential of cycling and other active and micro-modes of transport to solve problems such as congestion, air pollution, noise and the lack of physical movement. But do we have the necessary scientific knowledge to create the best possible environment for users of these modes and create people-friendly cities?

Our mission is to build a theoretical understanding of cycling and bicycle traffic, unravel the motivations and behaviour of cyclists, and then translate this knowledge into useful tools for planning and evaluating a new type of mobility infrastructure and future technologies.

Specifically, we have four visions:

  1. Educate future experts for creating cycling cities.
  2. Create a detailed understanding of bicyclists and bicycle traffic.
  3. Develop and test planning tools for bicycle traffic.
  4. Build a bridge between academia and 'the real world'.

Our expertise includes traffic simulation, data collection and processing, behaviour modelling and simulator development and experiments (bicycle simulator).

Endowed Professorship Bicycle Traffic

In 2020, the German Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport (BMDV) has endowed Bergische Universität Wuppertal as one of seven universities in Germany with an endowed professorship in cycling. The seven universities, which in addition to Wuppertal include RheinMain University of Applied Sciences in Wiesbaden, Kassel University, Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences in Salzgitter, Wildau University of Applied Sciences, Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences, and Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, will be funded with a maximum annual amount of up to €400.000.

Read more about

Quick Access

Contact

Chair of Bicycle Traffic

School of architecture and civil engineering
Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heather Kaths
Pauluskirchstraße 7
42285 Wuppertal
Email: bicycletraffic[at]uni-wuppertal.de

Administration

Claudia Heldmann
Tel.: 0202 / 439 4433
Email: cheldmann[at]uni-wuppertal.de

Contact study program M.Sc. Cycling Futures

cyclingfuture[at]uni-wuppertal.de
M.Sc. Cycling Futures

More information about #UniWuppertal:

Fakultät für Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen

Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Herzlich Willkommen beim Lehr- und Forschungs­gebiet Radver­kehr

Herzlich Willkommen beim Lehr- und Forschungs­gebiet Radver­kehr

Herzlich Willkommen beim Lehr- und Forschungs­gebiet Radver­kehr

The science of cycling

Der städtische Verkehr befindet sich im Umbruch - Bürger, Stadtplaner, Politiker und Verkehrsingenieure erkennen das Potenzial des Fahrrads und anderer aktiver und kleinster Verkehrsmittel, um Probleme wie Staus, Luftverschmutzung, Lärm und Bewegungsmangel zu lösen. Aber verfügen wir auch über die notwendigen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse, um die bestmögliche Umgebung für die Nutzer dieser Verkehrsmittel zu schaffen und menschenfreundliche Städte zu gestalten?

Unsere Aufgabe ist es, ein theoretisches Verständnis des Radfahrens und des Radverkehrs aufzubauen, die Beweggründe und das Verhalten der Radfahrer zu entschlüsseln und dieses Wissen dann in nützliche Instrumente für die Planung und Bewertung einer neuen Art von Mobilitätsinfrastruktur und zukünftiger Technologien umzusetzen.
Konkret haben wir vier Visionen:
1) Ausbildung künftiger Experten für die Gestaltung von Fahrradstädten.
2) Schaffung eines detaillierten Verständnisses von Radfahrern und Radverkehr.
3) Entwicklung und Erprobung von Planungsinstrumenten für den Radverkehr.
4) Eine Brücke zwischen der akademischen Welt und der "realen Welt" schlagen.

Unser Fachwissen umfasst Verkehrssimulation, Datenerfassung und -verarbeitung, Verhaltensmodellierung sowie Simulatorentwicklung und Experimente.

Stiftungsprofessur Radverkehr

Das Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr (BMDV) hat im Jahr 2020 die Bergische Universität Wuppertal als eine von sieben Hochschulen in Deutschland mit einer Stiftungsprofessur Radverkehr ausgestattet. Die sieben Hochschulen, neben Wuppertal noch die Hochschule RheinMain in Wiesbaden, die Universität Kassel, die Ostfalia Hochschule Salzgitter, die Technische Hochschule Wildau, die Hochschule Karlsruhe und die Frankfurt University of Applied Science, werden mit einem jährlichen Höchstbetrag von bis zu 400.000€ gefördert.

Mehr erfahren über

Schnellzugriff

Kontakt

Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Radverkehr

Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Fakultät für Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heather Kaths
Pauluskirchstraße 7
42285 Wuppertal
Email: radverkehr[at]uni-wuppertal.de

Sekretariat

Claudia Heldmann
Tel.: 0202 / 439 4433
Mail: cheldmann[at]uni-wuppertal.de

Contact study program M.Sc. Cycling Futures

cyclingfuture[at]uni-wuppertal.de
M.Sc. Cycling Futures

Weitere Infos über #UniWuppertal: